Just Me and a Few of My Friends

Promoting Literacy with Cartoons, Comics, and Graphic Novels

Promoting Literacy with Cartoons, Comics, and Graphic Novels

Last night I presented my first ever webinar. It was the final session of our MLTI online conference Pictures Sounds Numbers Words and, I must admit, I was a bit apprehensive at first. Although I have attended many webinars, I had never conducted one and I really didn’t know what to expect.

I was fortunate to have a few factors in my favor that made this a really enjoyable experience. My session was the last of a four-day event so I was able to attend several others first and get a real feel for environment. I had a pretty good idea of what would work for me and what wouldn’t and I had plenty of time to practice.

We promoted the conference through our various social networking sites so by the time I had tweeted it and written about it on Facebook, most of my colleagues and friends were aware of it. As the session was starting and I scanned down the list of attendees, I saw that they were mostly members of my huge MLTI network. It was like having a conversation with a group of old friends.

Of course, another factor that made it easy was the great content. I was able to talk for an hour about something I really believed in – that comics have a place in a well-rounded literacy program. As I watched the chat room fill with great ideas from the participants, it hit me. We’re finally allowing students to talk in class! Although we all know that learning is social, and discussion is powerful, teachers still ask students to be silent and give their full attention while the teacher is talking. It just seems too distracting to allow side conversations but in this webinar, the side conversations made the content so much richer.

If you’re interested in watching me and my friends talk about comics and literacy, check out the recording of this session and, while you’re there, drop in on some of the others.

1 Comment

Filed under Professional Development

One response to “Just Me and a Few of My Friends

  1. howtoteachanovel

    I just found your site and it’s got some good stuff. Keep up with your efforts! Graphic novels are an important lit form (and one which I recently blogged on at http://teachwithpicturebooks.blogspot.com). I’ll be sure to mention your site in an update post for my readers.

Leave a Reply

